Skip to main content
  • 16.60%
    Share capital 31/12/2017
  • 2,751 EUR M
    Value of the stake 31/12/2017
  • 16.60%
    Voting rights 31/12/2017
  • 3
    Number of representatives in statutory bodies 31/12/2017
Investment Year 2013 Investment history

SGS provides tailored inspection, verification, testing and certification solutions to its customers to make their commercial activities faster, simpler and more efficient. Its worldwide network consists of more than 95,000 employees at more than 2,400 offices and laboratories.

 

Performance in 2017

The SGS group achieved solid results in 2017. Total revenue reached CHF 6.3 billion and SGS is on track to deliver the revenue growth projected in the 2020 strategic plan. The group realised revenue growth of 5.4% on a constant currency basis, of which 4.2% was organic and 1.2% was contributed by recent acquisitions. On a historical reported basis, group revenue increased by 6.1%. Significant growth was reported across the vast majority of the portfolio.

Adjusted operating income reached CHF 969 million versus CHF 919 million in prior year, an increase of 5.4% (constant currency basis). The adjusted operating income margin remained stable compared to prior year (15.3%) at constant currency, with the improved underlying performance being partially offset by strategic investments.

Profit for the period reached CHF 664 million, an increase of 13.3%, mainly driven by improved performance, fewer restructuring expenses and a one-time tax rate decrease to 22.0% (2016: 24.0%) driven by the US tax reform, despite a non-tax deductible goodwill impairment of CHF 30 million impacting Industrial services.

Profit attributable to equity holders reached CHF 621 million, an increase of 14.4% compared with CHF 543 million disclosed in 2016.

The group generated solid operating cash flow at CHF 987 million supported by strong underlying business performance. Net investments in fixed assets were CHF 281 million and the group completed 12 acquisitions during the period for a total cash consideration payable of CHF 40 million. In 2017, the group paid a dividend of CHF 528 million.

At 31 December 2017, the group’s net debt position amounted to CHF 698 million compared with a net debt position of CHF 736 million at 31 December 2016.

Investment case

The industry is characterised by high barriers to entry and attractive fundamentals:

  • Expansion and ageing of infrastructure
  • Externalisation of activities
  • Development of regulations
  • Growing complexity of products
  • Consolidation

In this sector, SGS offers a particularly attractive profile:

  • World leader
  • Diversified portfolio
  • Ideally positioned to take advantage of growth opportunities
  • Resilient across economic cycles

Governance

Board of Directors (3/10*) Audit Committee (1/4*) Nomination and Remuneration Committee (1/3*)
Member
Member Member
Member Member
* Number of GBL's representatives in statutory bodies in relation to the total number of members

Skip to main content
  • 16,60 %
    Participation en capital 30/09/2018
  • 2.893 EUR M
    Valeur de la participation 30/09/2018
  • 16,60 %
    Participation en droits de vote 30/09/2018
  • 3
    Nombre de représentants dans les organes statutaires 30/09/2018
Année de l'investissement 2013 Historique de l'investissement

SGS fournit des solutions adaptées d’inspection, de vérification, de test et de certification à ses clients pour rendre leurs activités commerciales plus rapides, plus simples et plus efficaces. Son réseau mondial comprend plus de 95.000 employés répartis dans plus de 2.400 bureaux et laboratoires.

 

Performance en 2017

Le groupe SGS a réalisé de solides résultats en 2017. Le chiffre d’affaires total atteint CHF 6,3 milliards et SGS est en bonne voie pour réaliser son objectif de croissance des revenus annoncé dans son plan stratégique 2020. Le groupe réalise une croissance du chiffre d’affaires de 5,4 % à taux de change constants, dont 4,2 % de croissance organique et 1,2 % provenant des acquisitions récentes. Sur base historique rapportée, le chiffre d’affaires du groupe a augmenté de 6,1 %. La majorité des activités affichent une croissance significative.

Le résultat d’exploitation ajusté atteint CHF 969 millions contre CHF 919 millions l’année précédente, soit une augmentation de 5,4 % (à taux de change constants). La marge opérationnelle ajustée est restée stable par rapport à l’année précédente (15,3 %) à taux de change constant, l’amélioration de la performance sous-jacente étant partiellement compensée par des investissements stratégiques.

Le bénéfice de l’exercice atteint CHF 664 millions, en hausse de 13,3 % principalement grâce à l’amélioration des performances, à la diminution des charges de restructuration et à une baisse non-récurrente des taux d’imposition à 22,0 % (2016 : 24,0 %) en raison de la réforme fiscale américaine, et ce malgré une dépréciation du goodwill de CHF 30 millions, non déductible fiscalement, impactant l’activité Industrial Services.

Le bénéfice net (part du groupe) atteint CHF 621 millions, en hausse de 14,4 % par rapport à CHF 543 millions en 2016.

Le groupe a généré un cash-flow d’exploitation solide à CHF 987 millions soutenu par une forte performance opérationnelle sous-jacente. Les investissements nets en immobilisations corporelles se sont élevés à CHF 281 millions et le groupe a réalisé 12 acquisitions au cours de la période pour un montant total de CHF 40 millions. En 2017, le groupe a versé un dividende de CHF 528 millions.

Au 31 décembre 2017, la dette nette du groupe s’élève à CHF 698 millions contre une dette nette de CHF 736 millions au 31 décembre 2016.

Thèse d’investissement

L’industrie du Testing, Inspection et Certification est caractérisée par d’importantes barrières à l’entrée et est portée par des fondamentaux attractifs :

  • Croissance et vieillissement des infrastructures
  • Externalisation et privatisation des activités
  • Développement des régulations
  • Complexité croissante des produits
  • Consolidation

Dans ce secteur, SGS offre un profil particulièrement attrayant :

  • Leader mondial
  • Portefeuille d’activités diversifié
  • Idéalement positionné pour saisir les opportunités de croissance
  • Résilient face aux aléas des cycles économiques.

Gouvernance

Comité d'Audit (1/3*) Conseil d'Administration (3/9*) Comité des Nominations et Rémunérations (1/3*)
Membre
Membre Membre
Membre Membre
* Nombre de représentants de GBL dans les organes statutaires par rapport au nombre total de membres. Les informations de Gouvernance sont arrêtées en date du 31/12/2017, sauf en cas de communication publique plus récente.