Skip to main content
  • 19.98%
    Share capital 30/06/2018
  • 310 EUR M
    Value of the stake 30/06/2018
  • 19.98%
    Voting rights 30/06/2018
  • 1
    Number of representatives in statutory bodies 30/06/2018
Investment Year 2015 Investment history

Ontex is a growing international group specialised in hygienic products for baby, adult and feminine care. Ontex products are distributed in more than 110 countries under the company’s own brands and retailer brands. The main sales channels are retail trade, medical institutions and pharmacies.

Performance in 2017

Ontex total revenues for 2017 is EUR 2.36 billion, up by 18.2% on a reported basis and by 5.5% on a Like-For-Like (“LFL”) basis, outperforming the broadly flat personal hygiene market. In 2017, Ontex delivered revenue growth across all three categories (baby care, adult care, and feminine care). This demonstrated strong consumer demand for Ontex’s products, resulting in market share gains across most divisions.

FY 2017 revenue was broad-based with most geographies delivering higher LFL revenue. As a result of double-digit LFL growth and the Brazil acquisition, sales in the Americas rose to 27% of group sales, while the proportion of group sales in Western Europe was less than 50% for the first time ever, despite the solid increase in this region.

Adjusted EBITDA of EUR 266.4 million (margin of 11.3%) was 7.1% higher year-on-year despite EUR 7.8 million FX headwind.

Adjusted EBITDA margins of the group excluding Brazil proved robust at 12.0% compared to 12.5% in 2016. This was a resilient performance, with Ontex’s cost savings and efficiencies programs largely offsetting significant external headwinds, and some capacity constraints that limited Ontex’s profitability in the near term.

The overall performance of the Brazilian business acquired in March 2017 fell well short of Ontex’s expectations. Challenging market conditions provided a difficult backdrop.

Significant actions have already been taken to address the issues in Brazil, including some changes in the sales incentive system, reinforced processes and controls. Ontex is reviewing ways in which the company can sustainably improve the business performance on the top and bottom line.

The refinancing of debt in the second half of 2017 resulted in a meaningful extension of

debt maturities to 2022 and 2024, and a lower average cost of debt with the interest rate risk largely hedged, in line with the group’s hedging policy. Estimated annual savings before tax are expected to be approximately EUR 10 million.

The Board of Directors proposes to pay a gross dividend of EUR 0.60 per share, an increase of EUR 0.05 per share subject to approval by shareholders at the next Annual General Meeting.

Investment case

The growth of the industry is supported by (i) the resilience of the business (hygiene basics), (ii) an ageing population in mature countries and (iii) the growth in population and product adoption rates for hygiene products in emerging countries.

Ontex should be able to continue to outperform the market thanks to (i) increases in market share in retailer brands, (ii) increases in share of its own brands, including premiumisation and (iii) its greater exposure to emerging countries and adult incontinence products.

Governance

Board of Directors (1/7*) Remuneration and Nomination Committee (1/3*)
Member Member
* Number of GBL's representatives in statutory bodies in relation to the total number of members. Governance information is dated 31/12/2017, except where superseded by more recent public disclosures.

Skip to main content
  • 19,98 %
    Participation en capital 30/09/2018
  • 302 EUR M
    Valeur de la participation 30/09/2018
  • 19,98 %
    Participation en droits de vote 30/09/2018
  • 1
    Nombre de représentants dans les organes statutaires 30/09/2018
Année de l'investissement 2015 Historique de l'investissement

Ontex est un groupe en croissance spécialisé dans les produits d’hygiène pour nourrissons, femmes et adultes. Les produits d’Ontex sont distribués dans plus de 110 pays sous des marques propres et de distributeurs. Les canaux de vente principaux sont le commerce de détail, les établissements médicaux et les pharmacies.

Performance en 2017

Le chiffre d’affaires total d’Ontex pour 2017 s’élève à EUR 2,36 milliards, en hausse de 18,2 % sur base publiée et de 5,5 % à périmètre constant, surperformant un marché de l’hygiène personnelle globalement stable. En 2017, Ontex a enregistré une croissance de son chiffre d’affaires dans les trois catégories (produits d’hygiène pour bébés, pour adultes et d’hygiène féminine). Cette croissance a démontré la forte demande des consommateurs pour les produits d’Ontex, résultant en des gains de parts de marché dans la plupart des divisions.

Concernant le chiffre d’affaires de l’exercice 2017, la plupart des zones géographiques ont généré des revenus en croissance à périmètre constant. Grâce à la croissance à deux chiffres à périmètre constant et à l’acquisition au Brésil, les ventes enregistrées pour les Amériques ont atteint 27 % du chiffre d’affaires du groupe, tandis que la part des ventes en Europe de l’Ouest est, pour la première fois, inférieure à 50 %, malgré la solide croissance des ventes dans la région.

L’EBITDA ajusté de EUR 266,4 millions (marge de 11,3 %) a augmenté de 7,1 % par rapport à l’année précédente, en dépit des effets de change négatifs de EUR 7,8 millions.

Les marges d’EBITDA ajustées du groupe hors Brésil se sont avérées solides à 12,0 % contre 12,5 % en 2016. Il s’agit d’une performance solide, avec les programmes d’économies et d’efficience d’Ontex compensant largement les tensions externes et certaines contraintes de capacité limitant la rentabilité d’Ontex à court terme.

La performance globale de l’activité brésilienne acquise en mars 2017 est très inférieure aux attentes d’Ontex. Des conditions de marché complexes ont créé un contexte difficile.

Des mesures importantes ont déjà été prises pour résoudre les problèmes au Brésil, y compris certains changements des mécanismes de rémunération commerciale, ainsi que des processus et des contrôles renforcés. Ontex étudie les moyens par lesquels l’entreprise peut améliorer durablement sa performance tant au niveau du chiffre d’affaires que du résultat net.

Le refinancement de la dette au second semestre 2017 s’est traduit par une extension significative des maturités à 2022 et 2024, et un coût moyen de la dette moins élevé avec un risque de taux largement couvert, en ligne avec la politique de couverture du groupe. Les économies annuelles estimées avant impôt devraient s’élever à environ EUR 10 millions.

Le Conseil d’Administration propose de verser un dividende brut de EUR 0,60 par action, soit une augmentation de EUR 0,05 par action, sous réserve de l’approbation des actionnaires lors de la prochaine Assemblée Générale annuelle.

Thèse d’investissement

La croissance de l’industrie est supportée par (i) la résilience de l’activité (biens de première nécessité), (ii) le vieillissement de la population dans les pays matures et (iii) la croissance de la population et du taux d’adoption des produits hygiéniques dans les pays émergents.

Ontex devrait être capable de continuer à surperformer le marché grâce (i) aux gains de parts de marché des produits de marques distributeurs, (ii) à la premiumisation de ses marques et (iii) à sa plus forte exposition aux pays émergents et aux produits d’incontinence pour adultes.

Gouvernance

Comité d’Audit et Risque (1/3) Comité de Rémunérations et Nominations (1/4*) Conseil d'Administration (1/7*)
Membre Membre Membre
* Nombre de représentants de GBL dans les organes statutaires par rapport au nombre total de membres. Les informations de Gouvernance sont arrêtées en date du 31/12/2017, sauf en cas de communication publique plus récente.