In 2021, GBL ACT made its largest ever contribution to civil society,
doubling its support to EUR 3.8 million across 42 projects in the fields of education, health and environment.
 

Fondation Saint-Luc

Digitization of surgical images, a major step forward in the digital transformation of Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc

The operating area of Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc is equipped with seven optical microscopes, which are to be replaced by digital microscopes by 2025. The Saint-Luc Foundation, the reference for sponsorship at Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc, is highly involved in fundraising for the acquisition of this equipment. GBL, a partner of la Fondation Saint-Luc, has supported this project by facilitating the acquisition of the first digital microscope dedicated to ophthalmologic surgery.

Digital microscopes represent a major technological advance. They allow for the improvement of the surgical act, the training of assistant specialists, the remote and interdisciplinary sharing of data, as well as the obtaining of electronic images that can be analyzed by computers, authorizing the integration of artificial intelligence and thus its development at Saint-Luc. The first procedures performed with this microscope started in September 2021.

By financing this digital microscope, GBL is actively participating in innovation, in terms of research, patient care and education.

 

Le Petit Vélo Jaune

Support to families through volunteers who provide administrative and psychological assistance

Throughout Brussels, the nonprofit Le Petit Vélo Jaune offers support toward a reassuring family environment to future and new parents who are isolated, vulnerable and in a precarious situation. This accompaniment is organized in the form of meetings between a volunteer and a family. The pair meets every week for a few hours, over a period of approximately one year.

Faced with an accumulation of difficulties, some parents find themselves overwhelmed and discouraged. The volunteer provides support, whether it be for numerous administrative procedures, or psychologically, by lending an ear and becoming a resource on whom to rely. The volunteer also acts as a complementary link between families and various services and associations, which are sometimes difficult to access or unknown to parents.

In 2020, Le Petit Vélo Jaune wanted to extend the concept of solidarity support for families to allow parents in Wallonia to benefit from it too. The spin-off was born in order to share the association’s innovative and singular methods with new structures wishing to embark on the adventure.

The goal is to support the launch of two new structures per year, elsewhere in the country, i.e., a total of 12 structures and more than 550 accompanied families by 2026.

The support of donors, including GBL, has made it possible to support the establishment of the first three structures.

 

Toekomst Atelier de l'Avenir - TADA

Intensive coaching to promote the well-being of young people and motivate them for their future

In Brussels, TADA offers more than 1,500 socially vulnerable youths (and their entourage) a network that coaches them intensively for years. Through five weekend schools and an alumni network, TADA offers extracurricular activities where the (learning) bar is high, while also promoting the well-being of these young people.

At TADA’s weekend schools in Molenbeek, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Anderlecht and Schaarbeek, youth (10-14 years old) discover themselves and society thanks to enjoyable practical lessons from passionate professionals such as judges, nurses, cooks or mechanics.

Through an introduction to subjects such as law, medicine, mechanics, or even finance by GBL’s teams, these youth get a glimpse every Saturday for three years of what “later” has in store. In this way, they better understand the relevance of learning and “doing your best, for later” while developing themselves into motivated young people, fully motivated tolater contribute to our society.

GBL supports the antenna in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode so that TADA can coach even more children in the years to come – both during the three-year course in the weekend school and afterward in the alumni network.

Illustrations of GBL's community involvement

 
Play

En 2021, GBL ACT s’est plus que jamais impliqué dans la société civile, en doublant son soutien à EUR 3,8 millions à 42 projets dans les domaines de l’éducation, la santé et l’environnement.
 

Fondation Saint-Luc

La digitalisation des images opératoires, une avancée majeure dans la transformation digitale des Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc

Le quartier opératoire des Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc est équipé de sept microscopes optiques, qui doivent être remplacés par des microscopes digitaux d’ici 2025. La Fondation Saint-Luc, référence du mécénat aux Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc, est très investie dans la recherche des fonds nécessaires à l’acquisition de ces appareillages. GBL, partenaire de la Fondation Saint-Luc, a soutenu ce projet en permettant l’acquisition d’un premier microscope digital dédié à la chirurgie ophtalmologique.

Les microscopes digitaux représentent une avancée technologique majeure. Ils permettent l’amélioration du geste chirurgical, la formation des assistants spécialistes, le partage de données à distance et interdisciplinaire, ainsi que l’obtention d’images électroniques qui pourront être analysées par des ordinateurs, autorisant l’intégration de l’intelligence artificielle et donc son développement à Saint-Luc. Les premières interventions réalisées à l’aide de ce microscope ont démarré en septembre 2021.

En finançant ce microscope digital, GBL participe pleinement à l’innovation, à la fois en termes de recherche, de soins aux patients et d’éducation.

 

Le Petit Vélo Jaune

Soutien aux familles grâce à des bénévoles qui leur apportent une aide administrative et psychologique

Partout à Bruxelles, l’ASBL Le Petit Vélo Jaune propose un accompagnement de futurs et nouveaux parents isolés, fragilisés et précarisés vers un cadre de vie familial rassurant. Cet accompagnement s’organise sous forme d’une rencontre entre une ou un bénévole et une famille. Le binôme se rencontre chaque semaine durant quelques heures, sur une durée d’environ un an.

Face à un cumul de difficultés, certains parents se retrouvent dépassés et découragés. Le bénévole apporte un soutien, que ce soit dans les nombreuses démarches administratives, mais aussi au niveau psychologique en proposant une écoute, en devenant une personne ressource sur qui compter. Il agit également comme un maillon complémentaire entre les familles et les différents services et associations, qui sont parfois difficile d’accès ou méconnus des parents.

En 2020, le Petit Vélo Jaune a voulu étendre le concept d’accompagnement solidaire de familles pour permettre à des parents en Wallonie d’en profiter aussi. L’essaimage est né afin de partager les méthodes innovantes et singulières de l’association avec de nouvelles structures qui désirent se lancer dans l’aventure.

L’objectif est de soutenir deux nouvelles structures par an, ailleurs dans le pays, soit un total de 12 structures et plus de 550 familles accompagnées d’ici 2026.

Le soutien des donateurs, dont GBL, a permis de soutenir la mise en place des trois premières structures.

 

Toekomst Atelier de l'Avenir - TADA

Un encadrement intensif pour promouvoir le bien-être des jeunes et les motiver pour leur avenir

À Bruxelles, TADA propose à plus de 1.500 adolescents socialement vulnérables (et à leur entourage) un réseau qui les encadre intensivement pendant des années. Grâce à cinq écoles de week-end et à un réseau d’anciens élèves, TADA propose des activités extrascolaires où la barre (d’apprentissage) est placée très haut, tout en favorisant le bien-être des jeunes.

Dans les écoles de week-end de TADA à Molenbeek, Saint-Joos-ten-Node, Anderlecht et Schaerbeek, les jeunes (de 10 à 14 ans) se découvrent et découvrent la société grâce à des cours pratiques et amusants, dispensés par des professionnels passionnés tels que des juges, des infirmières, des cuisiniers ou des mécaniciens.

En s’initiant à des matières telles que le droit, la médecine, la mécanique ou même la finance avec les équipes de GBL, ces jeunes ont un aperçu, chaque samedi pendant trois ans, de ce que leur réserve l’avenir. Ils comprennent ainsi mieux l’intérêt d’apprendre et de « faire de son mieux, pour plus tard », tout en devenant des jeunes motivés, ayant envie de contribuer plus tard à notre société.

GBL soutient l’antenne de Saint-Josse-ten-Noode afin que TADA puisse encadrer encore plus d’enfants dans les années à venir – tant pendant le parcours de trois ans dans l’école du week-end qu’après, dans le réseau des anciens élèves.

Illustrations de l'engagement communautaire de GBL

 
Play