Our commitment

As a patrimonial and engaged investor, GBL believes that responsible management is key to ensure the best interests for its stakeholders, by seeking sustainable growth of its portfolio assets and ultimately long-term value creation.

While GBL’s primary focus is to carry out profitable and sustainable activities, it also seeks to play a role within the broader society in which it operates. GBL’s responsible management approach consequently aims at benefiting to all stakeholders.

 

Illustrations of GBL's community involvement

 
Play

Our responsible management approach

Environmental, social and governance (“ESG”) considerations are fundamental to the way GBL conducts business, not only in its investment activities, but also as a company, and notably an employer and a contributor to the communities in which it operates.

Read more

As a responsible company

In spite of its non-material direct impact from an environmental and social standpoint (as presented in our materiality assessment), GBL values ESG responsibility and awareness. The group has a long history of being a responsible employer and consistently demonstrates integrity and strict ethical standards. For more information please refer to the section 2 of our Sustainability Report 2019.

Read more

As a responsible investor

GBL’s material impact is primarily indirect, i.e. through the companies composing its portfolio. Incorporating ESG factors into its investment analysis, within both the investment process and the portfolio monitoring, will contribute to enhance GBL’s investment performance over the long term. This is further described in section 3 of our Sustainability Report 2019, which details GBL’s ESG positioning as a responsible investor and reviews the key commitments of its portfolio companies.

In addition, as a long-term and listed investor, GBL has developed an ESG Statement, reflecting the core values that guide GBL and the CEO on environmental, social and governance issues. It presents the commitments and implementation guidelines regarding all three ESG pillars.

ESG Statement

United Nations Global Compact principles

GBL is formally committed to the United Nations Global Compact (“UNGC”) initiative since 2018. Adhering to the UNGC and its 10 principles (covering human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption) allowed GBL to cover all general areas that could be impacted by its activities.

GRI content index

GBL’s sustainability report has been prepared as part of the Annual Report 2019 in accordance with (i) the Directive 2014/95/EU on non-financial reporting (transposed into the Belgian law of September 3, 2017) and (ii) for the first time, the GRI Standards - Core option. That  report covers the calendar year 2019 (i.e. from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019).

GBL’s statutory auditor, Deloitte, performed a review of the non-financial information as disclosed in the sustainability report and verified that it includes all the information required by article 119, § 2 of the Companies Code, which became article 3:32, §2 of the Code on companies and associations on January 1, 2020, and is in accordance with the consolidated financial statements for the financial year ended December 31, 2019. Deloitte do however not express any opinion on the question whether this non-financial information has been established in accordance with the internationally recognised frameworks mentioned in the directors’ report on the consolidated financial statements.

PwC has provided ISAE 3000 limited assurance on GBL’s assertion that the Annual Report 2019 meets the requirements of the GRI Standards (Core Option). PwC’s assurance opinion is available upon request.

Read more

 

Key ESG commitments of portfolio companies

As highlighted before, the portfolio companies identify and address their ESG impact and associated risks within the framework of their own internal control. Summarised below are their strategic commitments and objectives in the ESG field.

Read more

Notre engagement

Investisseur patrimonial et engagé, GBL estime qu’une gestion responsable est essentielle pour défendre au mieux les intérêts de ses parties prenantes, en recherchant une croissance durable de ses actifs en portefeuille et in fine une création de valeur sur le long terme.

Bien que le principal objectif de GBL soit de mener des activités rentables et durables, le groupe entend également agir au sein de la société dans laquelle elle opère. L’approche de gestion responsable de GBL vise par conséquent à bénéficier à l’ensemble des parties prenantes.

 

Illustrations de l'engagement communautaire de GBL

 
Play

Notre approche en matière de gestion responsable

Les aspects environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance (« ESG ») sont essentiels au mode de fonctionnement de GBL, non seulement dans le cadre de ses activités d’investissement mais aussi comme entreprise, et plus particulièrement dans ses relations avec son personnel et la société civile où elle est établie.

Lire plus

En tant qu’entreprise responsable

Malgré son impact direct non matériel d’un point de vue environnemental et social (comme présenté dans notre analyse de matérialité), GBL valorise la responsabilité et la sensibilisation ESG. Depuis de nombreuses années, le groupe a toujours agi en employeur responsable, avec intégrité et dans le respect de normes éthiques strictes. Pour plus d’informations, se référer à la section 2 de notre Rapport de développement durable 2019.

Lire plus

En tant qu’investisseur responsable

L’impact matériel de GBL est principalement indirect, i.e. au travers des sociétés composant son portefeuille. L’intégration des facteurs ESG dans son analyse des investissements, tant dans le processus d’investissement que dans le suivi du portefeuille, contribuera à améliorer la performance des investissements de GBL sur le long terme. Ces principes sont décrits dans la section 3 de notre Rapport de développement durable 2019, qui détaille l’approche de GBL en tant qu’investisseur responsable et passe en revue les principaux engagements des sociétés du portefeuille en matière d’ESG.

Par ailleurs, en qualité qu’investisseur à long terme et coté, GBL a développé une Déclaration ESG, reflète les valeurs fondamentales qui guident GBL et l’Administrateur-Délégué sur les questions environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance. Elle présente les engagements et lignes directrices de mise en œuvre concernant les trois piliers en matière d’ESG.

Déclaration ESG

Principes du Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies

GBL a formellement adhéré au Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies (« PMNU ») en 2018. Cette adhésion au PMNU et à ses 10 principes relatifs aux droits de l’homme, au travail, à l’environnement et à la lutte contre la corruption a permis à GBL de couvrir l’ensemble des domaines généraux pouvant être impactés par ses activités.

Index de contenu GRI 

Le rapport de développement durable de GBL a été préparé, dans le cadre du Rapport Annuel 2019 conformément à (i) la Directive 2014/95/UE sur l’information non financière (transposée dans la loi belge du 3 septembre 2017) et (ii) pour la première fois, conformément aux Normes GRI - Option de base. Ce rapport couvre l’année civile 2019  (i.e. du 1er janvier 2019 au 31 décembre 2019).

Le commissaire de GBL, Deloitte, a exercé une revue de l’information non financière telle que publiée dans le rapport de développement durable et vérifié qu’il contient l’ensemble de l’information requise par l’article 119, § 2 du Code des Sociétés, devenu l’article 3:32, §2 du Code des sociétés et des associations au 1er janvier 2020 et concorde avec les comptes consolidés pour l’exercice clos le 31 décembre 2019. Deloitte ne se prononce cependant pas sur la question de savoir si cette information non financière est établie conformément aux cadres de référence internationaux reconnus mentionnés dans le rapport de gestion sur  les comptes consolidés.

PwC a réalisé sa mission conformément au standard ISAE 3000 d’assurance limitée sur l’affirmation de GBL selon laquelle le Rapport Annuel 2019 répond aux exigences GRI Standards (Core Option). Le rapport d’assurance de PwC est disponible sur demande.

Lire plus

 

Principaux engagements des sociétés du portefeuille en matière d’ESG

Les sociétés du portefeuille identifient et gèrent leur impact ESG et les risques associés en appliquant leur propre cadre de contrôle interne. Nous avons synthétisé ci-dessous, leurs engagements et objectifs stratégiques dans le domaine ESG.

Lire plus